Episode 037: Interview with Hollie Jackson

Join Elle, AR, Ishabelle, and Paulina as we interview narrator Hollie Jackson.

**Hollie offers a giveaway, listen for details**

Find out more about Hollie at http://hrjackson.com/

About elleclouse

Woman, wife, mother, writer, knitter and sarcasm aficionado.
This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Episode 037: Interview with Hollie Jackson

  1. Kim says:

    Hollie which book that you’ve worked on is your favorite? I know it’s like picking your favorite child, lol!

    Like

    • hrjacksontnc says:

      Hi Kim!

      That’s a great question, and you’re right! It’s a toughie. lol.

      I’ve had a lot of really great titles cross my path, to be honest. My first inclination is to say our books (The Nemesis Chronicles) as they’re currently being redone so they’re the first things on my mind, but, aside from that, there are a few that really stand out for me. They’re less individual books and more series that I enjoyed doing, and the reasons come down to clicking with the characters and stories:

      The Deadland Saga by Rachel Aukes – I was familiar with the zombie genre of horror, but not a huge fan of it until I read this series. I fell in love with the story, the lead character (Cash) and her struggle to understand the new world she finds herself thrust into one sunny afternoon when all hell breaks loose at work. It was heartbreaking and sniffle inducing because of the horror aspect, but there’s a story of strength and overcoming obstacles and learning to forge new relationships in the world gone mad.

      The Witchless in Seattle series by Dakota Cassidy – This was my first foray into the cozies genre and I fell in *love* with the characters. DC has an amazing storytelling ability and she creates these tightly knit character communities that somehow just make you feel good to listen to. I crack up quite a bit while doing this one, mostly due to lending my voice to a pair of otherworldly spies (one British, one Russian), a cottonball bat named Belfry, and Stevie (the main character) who is both snarky and compassionate.

      The EarthCent Ambassador series by E.M. Foner – This whole series has been a fantastic challenge for me just based on the sheer number of characters I’ve voiced in a single book (currently: 84 being the highest!) and, with a core cast of 20+ making an appearance every single title, the ante is upped by having to age the voices as well. (Case in point: The main characters have a little girl, whom I’ve voiced from the age of 2, to her current 15; there’s another pair of sisters whom I’ve voiced from age 10 and 12, to the current mid-twenties.) It’s a sci-fi series that’s sort of a mix of Star Trek’s Deep Space Nine (as it takes place mostly on Union Station) with a little Galaxy Quest thrown in. It’s a lot of fun, very light-hearted, but still managing to stay entertaining without resorting to violence or sex to catch the attention.

      And I’d be remiss without mentioning Reaper’s Inc. by Angela Roquet – It was a blast lending my voice to a sassy reaper working the afterlife gig out of Limbo City. I loved the way all the religions and their various afterlives worked together, the characters stretched from heaven to hell and everywhere in between, angels, demons, gods, goddesses, fae creatures… I really enjoyed immersing myself in that world.

      And that’s literally just the tip of the iceberg (I swear I could go on and on about this lol). I’ve got a ton of romance titles from contemporary to paranormal to high fantasy, shifters of all sorts (dragons and were’s, oh my!). My projects have run the literal gamut from steamy erotica to cheesy sci-fi, sweet love stories to straight up horror, and all points in between!

      But truthfully? I try to find something I love in every book that comes to my studio, and after 400+ titles…I still fanatically adore what I do 🙂

      Congrats on your win and thank you for the fantastic question!!

      Warmly,
      ~Hollie

      Like

    • elleclouse says:

      Congratulations Kim, you are the winner. Select an audio book from Hollie’s catalog and email me at fantasyromancepodcast at gmail. Here’s a link: http://www.audible.com/search/ref=a_search_c4_1_1_1_srNarr?searchNarrator=Hollie+Jackson&qid=1504988135&sr=1-1

      Like

Leave a Reply

